The Samsung Galaxy S6, G4, HTC One M9 have all arrived since the ZenFone 2 was announced in nuary, each touts its own special thing. Still, none of those phones is particularly affordable without a carrier subsidy, that’s where Asus hopes to have an edge.  To compel you to choose ZenFone 2 as your daily driver, Asus includes a 2.3GHz, 64-bit Intel processor a 13-megapixel xelMaster camera that promises fantastic low-light performance (or so Asus claims). There’s also a 5.5-inch FullHD display, dual SIM capabilities, a stylish, ergonomic design.  The ZenFone 2 has certainly got something, those premium-like features cost only $299, unlocked off-contract, for the 4GB/64GB version with QuickCharge support. 

A plastic metal hybrid design

The ZenFone 2 was originally intended to have a polymer-coated body, but since it was first announced, Asus opted for brushed metal instead. That’s a good choice, because not only does the ZenFone 2 feel as premium as the HTC One M8, for instance, but it’s also got a removable back. My only issue with the body is that the phone feels a little slippery. The ZenFone 2 also looks completely different than how it was originally reported to look. It doesn’t have a large, circular camera lens on the back, akin to the Nokia mia 1020. Instead, it simply features a small, innocuous camera lens above a slim volume rocker. The rear-facing volume button is sort of maddening. I don’t like the rear-facing buttons on any of ’s last three flagship phones, I’m not keen on Asus’ button design either. st as annoying: The power button is top-facing it’s kind of hard to press without cradling the entire phone. I’m more of a side-chassis button person, though I know some won’t mind this button setup at all.

Meet the xelMaster

Asus says its 13-megapixel xelMaster camera sensor features an f/2.0 aperture lens that’s capable of producing “industry-leading” low-light shots. This is apparently due to the xelMaster’s pixel-merging technology, which can capture up to 400 percent brighter photos at night, or in low-light scenes, without the need of flash. I haven’t yet had time to test this claim, but I can already tell you that on pure specs alone, Asus is playing catch-up. The Galaxy S6 G4 both feature rear-facing 16-megapixel camera sensors with f/1.9 f/1.8 apertures, respectively. These—on paper—already allow in more light than the ZenFone 2.  I’m going to take the ZenFone 2 into the lab with both Samsung ’s flagships, then out into the field, report back on my findings. ’ll see if Asus’s xelMaster really is the industry leader in low-light photography. For now, here’s a test shot with the phone out in the real world: At least Asus’s camera software isn’t totally barebones, like some other mid-range phones in its price range. The app comes with Backlight HDR capabilities, some manual mode settings, like control for ISO, shutter speed, exposure. The front-facing camera on the ZenFone 2 is 5-megapixels, with a wide, 85-degree field of view. I also appreciate the variety of options offered in the app’s beautification mode. In the brief time I spent with the front-facing camera, it feels just as capable as the Galaxy S6— they do have the same megapixel count.

Stop it with the bloatware already!

Asus, why do you do this? Didn’t you just read my article pleading with carriers to stop bundling bloatware with new phones? The minute I synced up my account with the ZenFone 2, I was bombarded with different app folders on the Home screen. There’s a folder aptly titled Apps4U with apps like Zinio, TripAdvisor, Dr. Safety, Kindle. Those are nice applications to have, but I should be allowed to download them on my own if I want to. Asus also bundles CleanMaster with the device, which goes to show that old habits die hard with makers. There’s also a folder of Asus apps, including a weather app, flashlight app, file manager, clock, calendar, gallery app. I’m okay with apps like this coming bundled with a phone, as long as they have a direct hook into your account, which they do. However, the apps only loosely follow Material Design, which is quite a bummer. At this point in llipop’s life cycle, that’s absolutely not OK. Asus’ Android interface is passable. I wouldn’t have said this a while ago, but since my mom switched to the Galaxy S6 ge, I can now see why OEMs try their h at skinning Android. For some of the less technologically inclined (hi, Mom), having icons that all look alike a blown-up Quick Settings menu makes an interface easier to use. Regardless, I wouldn’t stick with Asus’ interface, even if it does offer a variety of cute Themes. I’d install another uncher instead.

The verdict so far?

Based on its specifications, I think the ZenFone 2 is a worthy unlocked phone, especially if you want something that’s affordable a little on the premium side. There’s still a lot about it that I need to test, however. It runs an Intel-based processor rather than a Qualcomm one, so performance tests should be interesting. I’ll have a full review for you after I/O later this month.